S1, E3: “Scars”

Hi, guys! Welcome back to my YouTube channel! I know it has been a hot minute since I’ve written a blog post, but I had to be away for a while to focus on my degree. Do not worry, though, your favourite blogger is back with a bang! I’m super excited to continue on this journey and to reflect on what I’ve learned about myself throughout this year, and to continue learning with all of you.

A few months ago, I put up an Instagram poll for you guys, just to gauge if you were open to me posting other content. You had the option between a blog post or a poem and majority chose the poem. So we are bringing new things to this platform and I hope you enjoy it!

This particular poem is titled Scars. It was written for whoever has lost somebody in their lives – be it friend, family, a lover, or a teacher. Whoever you felt had an impact in your life but was suddenly taken away (does not have to be by death, it can be anything). It’s about the moments you lose before you even had a chance to share them with that person.

I hope you enjoy it and share it to those you think might need it, or just nje.

Love to you all!

SCARS

I didn’t show you the one on the right-hand side of my knee
Or the one on my left hand
Or the one from the operation
The ones behind my eyes when I sleep at night
Or the ones that torment me every time I think of what could have been
Or the ones dotted all around my heart because of time or circumstance
I didn’t show you the ones scattered around like memories
All speaking of a time already passed
Those etched onto my skin, those that do not allow me to forget
Those that force themselves to the front of my mind and want me to FEEL
But those I fight and resist
Those that slap me in the face when I hear a certain song,
Or have a mint flavoured piece of gum,
Or I see a type of t-shirt
Or…
Or…
I could go on, but…
You should’ve been here for all of this
But you’re not
And that’s okay
I think I let go of you the moment I knew that I will never force anyone to stay

Leave a comment below, share, and let’s continue interacting!

4 thoughts on “S1, E3: “Scars””

  1. This is a beautiful poem babe.
    All of us know of this pain and it’s not always easy to articulate it,and putting words to pain always helps to alleviate it

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment