S1, E6: “Rodrigue Kabuya’s Story: Seeking A Home”

Rodrigue Kabuya

Hi, everybody! Welcome back and thank you for tuning in.

Today, we welcome Rodrigue as he co-hosts the blog and shares his story. Rodrigue is a political prodigy who relocated from his home country to the beautiful nation of South Africa. He is interested in politics, good books, tourism, and he is a little bit obsessed with watches, golf and the art of sapology. Rodrigue has always been vocal about wanting to make a change not only within his home country, but within the whole of Africa. He is president of the Congolese Society at the University of Cape Town (U.C.T) and he even has his own blog titled “Conversations With Myself”!

His story is titled “Seeking A Home”:

“I have titled this piece Seeking A Home because the plight of refugees is one of constantly defining what and where the home is. Like most refugees, my exodus from the DRC in the year 2000 was because of the escalating 2nd Congo War. My parents, a humble middle-class couple, could not stand the thought of having to raise their children in a war-torn country without certainty for what the future might hold. So, they began the search for the perfect destination, which they could call “home”.

The search started with a two-year stay in Zambia, living under some harsh and unbearable conditions. At the time, living in Zambia as an undocumented refugee was very risky. After my sister was born in 2002, we began the perilous journey down to South Africa. Having no money and three kids, my parents were plagued with endless thoughts of how to reach this land of comfort and possibility. Having to travel in fragments, my brother at the age of 15 traveled from Zambia to South Africa alone under a Zambia alias, to allow his safe travels. Then, followed by my mother with myself and my sister, and my father finally joined us close to 8 months later. 

This journey has been the motivating factor for trying to achieve some form of success. The entire concept of home came from wanting to become something and belong somewhere. Having to grow up in South Africa, I had almost lost the essence of what made me Congolese. Apart from the name and the family, one would have thought that I was South African.  However, despite my attempts at wanting to belong, I was always been reminded that I did not – be it through the lack of proficiency in the languages or from the inability to share in the experiences of other kids because the cultures were just very different.

After 12 years of this constant wanting, finally, in university I began accepting where I was from. I realized that home was not only about experiences but also about the place where you felt that you belonged. Regardless of the fact that my entire life thus far has been informed by my current location and its experiences thereof, I believe that when I set foot on Congolese soil, then will I truly feel at home. 

In light of this awakening, I have realized that South Africa was and is necessary to the person I have become today. I have, throughout the years, learned about her history and I have shared and admired her culture. I have even incorporated certain aspects into my own philosophy of life.

Although the concept of home might have a particular fluidity, the place where the heart is most comfortable is the place one should call home. South Africa has been and continues to be the place of my upbringing. Regardless of her flaws, she has provided us with a new glimpse at a future we never otherwise thought we would have.”

Some organizations close to Rodrigue’s heart are Scalabrini and the UNHCR. Please read up on them and lend a helping hand in any way that you can. 

I would love to invite anybody with a story: please share it. And those willing to educate themselves and get a different perspective: welcome, thank you for joining us. Join us in the next 2 weeks for our second co-blogger, and a piece on their story!

Love to you all!

For those wanting to share their stories, please use the contact information below:

To truly discover one’s identity, one must first discover their roots.

T. Nsenga

3 thoughts on “S1, E6: “Rodrigue Kabuya’s Story: Seeking A Home””

Leave a comment